Sanctioning of Annual Action Plan for Revamped Distribution Sector Program in Electricity Division – Jammu and Kashmir Latest News | Tourism

Councilor Ladakh, Umang Narula chairing DP UT Level Reforms Committee meeting.

*Projects of Rs 1172 cr approved
Excelsior Correspondent
LEH, August 5: With the aim of improving the quality, reliability and affordability of electricity supply for consumers through a financially sustainable and operationally efficient distribution sector, the UT of the Energy Development Department chaired by Ladakh Councilor, Umang Narula has approved the annual action plan for the overhaul of the Distribution Sector Regime (RDSS) for the financial year 2022-2023.
The action plan formulated for Ladakh amounts to Rs 1172 crores and includes various components such as metering, distribution infrastructure works, project management; capacity building training and other enabling and support activities.
During the meeting, RECDPL Deputy Director Shubham Yadav informed the participants that the program will cover both urban and rural areas of Ladakh. He informed that under the RDSS, power infrastructure will be built to supply power to regions like Changthang and border areas of Ladakh. He added that the program will also include modernization of electricity infrastructure in Ladakh; the creation of downstream infrastructure in the Zanskar region and various new electrical substations.
Further, he informed that the RDSS aims to reduce AT&C losses in Ladakh to pan-India levels by 12-15%; Bring the ACS-ARR gap to zero by 2024-25 and help DISCOMs improve their operational efficiency.
During the meeting, Councilor Narula highlighted the establishment of a mechanism to ensure that government departments pay promptly for electricity consumed. He also asked the Power Development Department to opt for underground wiring in certain areas of the region. In addition, Councilor Narula asked the DP to come up with a technical solution to avoid damage to power lines due to high speed winds.
The meeting was also attended by Administrative Secretary, Energy Development Department, Ravinder Kumar, Chief Wildlife Warden, Sajad Mufti, Chief Engineer, PDD, Additional Secretary, Finance, DC Rajath, OSD to Administrative Secretary , Dr. Thakchos, officials of the energy development department. Ladakh and officers from RECPDCL and LPDD.


Comments are closed.